Judge Glenn H. Derryberry

The Honorable Glenn H. Derryberry has been Judge of the Allen County Probate and Juvenile Courts since November 19, 2007.  Prior to becoming Judge he had served for 18 years as the Chief Magistrate of the Allen County Juvenile Court.

Judge Derryberry is a graduate of Lima Shawnee High School and received his bachelor’s degree in Social Studies Education from Bowling Green State University. He received his law degree from Ohio Northern University in 1977. From 1977 to 1989, Judge Derryberry worked as a private practice attorney in Allen County. He also held the positions of Auglaize County Public Defender (1981-82), Assistant Attorney General for the State of Ohio (1982-83), and Assistant Lima City Prosecutor (1982-84).

Judge Derryberry has been a member of the Allen County Bar Association since 1977, and served as its President in 2006. Additionally, he has served the Allen County Bar Association as a member of its Executive Committee, Grievance Committee, Juvenile Court Committee, Probate Law Committee and as Co-Chair of the Continuing Legal Education Committee.

Judge Derryberry has also been a member of the Ohio State Bar Association since 1977 and has served in various capacities in that organization. He has served as Chair of the Family Law Committee and was twice elected by his fellow attorneys to serve as District 16 Representative to the Council of Delegates and currently serves on the Association’s Board of Governors. Judge Derryberry is also a member of the Ohio Judicial Conference, the Ohio Association of Probate Judges, the Ohio Association of Juvenile Court Judges, the American Judges Association and the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.

Judge Derryberry is involved in various community organizations. He is a member and Past President of the Lima Noon Optimist Club and a Life Member of Optimist International. He served for 13 years as Administrative Board Chair at the Shawnee United Methodist Church and was a Lay Delegate to the West Ohio Annual Conference from 2002 to 2006.